Shared Governance

  1. Informed and inclusive decision-making

  2. Transparency and clarity of operations and decision-making

  3. Open lines of communication between and among all components and members of the VSU community 

  4. Accountability 

  5. Mutual respect and trust

The governance principles of this system are intended to assure all members of the VSU community that they have a seat at the table: after all, a decision-making process based on an open flow of information, diverse involvement, mutual respect, and collective deliberations will advance the interests of the university as a whole.

The four representative governing bodies of the Shared Governance system are the University Council, the Faculty Senate, the Staff Senate, and the Student Government Association.  Final decision-making authority will always rest with the President and the Board of Visitors.  Moreover, administrators at the school and university level, as well as the representative governing bodies, will continue to have the responsibilities outlined in their respective job descriptions and/or constitutions and bylaws.  However, under the Shared Governance system, all will have the opportunity to review, recommend, and decide based upon the informed input of other affected constituencies of the VSU community.

In the end, the Shared Governance system is designed to facilitate and support the growth of the university, the achievement of educational excellence, and the freedom of thought, inquiry, and scholarly/artistic expression.

These principles are more fully articulated in the Shared Governance Preamble.